Supporting Wealdstone FC

Supporting Wealdstone FC

Wealdstone 1 Braintree Town 1, Sat, 28 July 2012


Share This Post

Despite a shaky start from Wealdstone in this competitive and, at times, physical encounter they comfortably matched their Blue Square Bet Premier opposition for long periods at The Vale on Saturday

Braintree were by far the quickest out of the blocks and bossed the opening minutes and soon raced into the lead when former Stones midfielder James Mulley smashed home past an exposed Rikki Banks from an astute Sean Marks flick on.

Stones were in danger of being over run in the midfield by Town’s sharpness and direct style but the home side gradually began to pick up the pace and started to press more effectively from the hassling of Kurtney Brooks and Chris O’Leary, and the space creating skills of Alex Dyer. Stones first real chance came from the hard working Peter Dean but he blazed over from a good position on 12 minutes. Stones were now coping well with the away attack with the central defensive pairing of Captain Wes Parker and Sean Cronin in superb form.

Following some good possession, Stones gained a penalty on 37 minutes when forward Reice Stanislaus went flying after a rash challenge from Iron ‘keeper Nathan McDonald. Although McDonald parried Dean’s spot kick, Dyer was on hand to coolly stroke home the rebound

Wealdstone were now dominating and gained several half chances to take the lead before the break with Dyer particularly effective and Tom Pett finding more freedom to set up attacks although hold up play was at a premium. The game was more akin to a league clash as the tackles went flying in at times but this would have provided a good test for both sides. The best passing move of the game almost resulted in Stones taking the lead but Stanislaus was only just thwarted by McDonald

Stones flowing play was then disrupted somewhat with a large number of substitutions and after a good Banks save, Braintree had a golden opportunity to win the game when a penalty was awarded after a McCubbin foul in the box on 90 minutes. But Banks saved brilliantly and honours rightly remained even.

Wealdstone: Banks, Brewer, Chappell, Parker, Cronin, Dyer, Brooks, O’Leary, Dean, Stanislaus, Pett. Subs used: Massey, Jolly, McCubbin, Nicholas, Carrick, Jordan, Field. Not used: Papp, Haxhia.

Attendance: 203


Match Report by Nick Dugard

Subscribe to WFCSC news and updates

* indicates required

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from WFCSC:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

More To Explore


Newsletter – August 2022

Quicklinks A few words from WFCSC Chairman Mark Randall On the metaphoric eve of the new season, you hopefully would have seen that I have

#50/50 winner

50/50 Draw Winner – 6th August 2022

Congratulations to the winner of today’s 50-50 draw who takes home £47. The winning ticket is 03660 and your prize money can be collected from behind